Pension Kalina -- Pavel Kalina, Na Dlouhé 242, 390 01 Tábor - Horky, Czech Republic

South Bohemia -- Tips for trips

Tábor and the neighbourhood

  • Dear visitors,

    welcome to Southern Bohemia.We have prepared a few interesting trips in Tábor and its surroundings. If you art interested,you can use our         Mercedes Benz Vito - van , or Mercedes 220 E car,to make these trips.We offer our guest special prices.We also provide transport services in the Czech republic or abroad at favourable prices.


  • Chýnov caves --

        To the north of the village of Chýnov (10 km east of Tábor) hidden deep in the heart of a hill are places which should not remain unnoticed when visiting Tábor. In the year 1863 limestone caves were discovered in Pacova Mount   (573 metres) and when explored they proved to be the second largest in Bohemia. There is a little lake at the very bottom of the cave. The caves are accesible  in summer only.
        ( tel.: +420 381 299 034 )

  • Soběslav --

        In the land of pastures, fields and ponds, south of Tábor, from a distance the 68 meter high, narow Church tower dominanting the town of Soběslav invites you to the metropolitan centre of the unique part of southern Bohemia. The oldest data about Soběslav start from July 12th, 1293 and testify that since then, it has been an outstanding settlement that in 1390 was given the privilages of the royal town by the Rosenberg's.
    In the surroundings, the surface of countless ponds glitters, on the southwest side unfold the Soběslavská Blata (Moors) with their extensive peatbogs, an area with typical architecture of southbohemian folk baroque, national costumes, songs and tradition. The visitor will find many opportunities for enjoyable recreation in beautiful nature with possibilites of swimning, mushroompicking, fishing and interesting visits of the near surroundings.
        ( Informační a kulturní středisko Soběslav, Jirsíkova 34/I; tel.: +420 381 524 527 )

  • Bechyně --

        It is a charming little town located on a promontory above the Lužnice and the River Smutná, about 20 km south-west of Tábor. Bechyně was founded in 1323, and its partly preserved fortification walls date back to the 15th century. Patients in the local spa recover from rheumatism and various injuries. Bechyně is also famous for ceramics. Deposits of kaolin incited the establishment of a ceramic factory which closely cooperates with the local secondary school of ceramics - a very prestigious one. Tourists to Bechyně should not miss the museum of ceramics. The towns of Tábor and Bechyně are connected by the oldest electrified railway in the former Austro-Hungarian Empire. It was designed by František Křižík who on June 1, 1903 sent the first electric train on a journey 24 km long.
    The little town boasts another attraction - a Renaissance castle. It was designed by the Italian architect Baltasar Maggi of Arogna at the end of the 16th century. After periods of fame and decline underwent a thorough reconstruction, and in 1998 it was opened to the public.
        ( MěÚ Bechyně, nám. T.G.Masaryka 2; tel.: +420 381 211 012 )

  • Sezimovo Ústí and Kozí hrádek --

        The town sezimovo Ústí was first mentioned in 1262. It was famous for its drapery, pottery and salt trade. In 1412 Jan Hus found refuge here for a while. Eight years later, in 1420, Sezimovo ˇustí was burned to the ground by Huss's followers who moved to Tábor afterwards. A new town was founded on the spot only in the year 1827.
    Noteworthy is also the fact that Dr. Edvard Beneš, the second president of our republic. had his summer mansion built in Sezimovo Ústí I., and on September 3, 1948 he died there.
    The ruins of the small Gothic castle Kozí Hrádek are situated near Sezimovo Ústí II. The castle was first mentioned in sources in 1377. It is still apparent from the ground plan that in the middle there used to be a mighty residential tower surrounded with a wooden barrier, a moat and a mound. In 1406 Vilém of Újezd took possesion of Kozí Hrádek. But the place became famous a bit later thanks to Jan Hus who, having been invited by Ctibor and Jan of Kozí, took refuge here in the years 1413 and 1414. Jan Hus wrote essays here and preached in the area. Hrádek burned down in the 15th century and from then on it has decayed. Today the remains are protected by the state and they are a popular target of tourists.
        ( MěÚ Sezimovo Ústí I, Dr. Edvarda Beneše 21; tel.: +420 381 263 175-6 )

  • České Budějovice

  • České Budějovice --

        České Budějovice is the largest town in the region of South Bohemia. It is full   of history and remarkable monuments, and of course, České Budějovice is very famous for its beer production.

    The name of the brewery and the beer relates to the place of its origin – the town of České Budějovice. Since the 14th century the official name of this city was Budweis. Only in 1918 was the name changed into the Czech name of České Budějovice. However, the indication Budweis is today the official translation of the name of the city into many foreign languages. The tradition of the production of beer in České Budějovice began in 1265 when the Czech King, Přemysl Otakar II. chartered the brewing rights for the town.Budweiser Budvar‘s, Visitors Centre will be opened to the public in April 2005. The exposition vividly portrays the history of the brewing industry in České Budějovice. The tour starts with the projection of brewing inside a copper vessel then goes on with a virtual visit through geological layers of the artesian well. The visitors start with the Historical Hall, where they are acquainted with the history of České Budějovice and brewing traditions. Then they continue to the Gothic-Renaissance Log Cabin, where the exposition of medieval brewing can be seen. The influence of technology on brewing is shown in the Age of Industry Hall. The subsequent hall - the 20th Century Hall is devoted to the modern history of brewing in České Budějovice.

    České Budějovice  is a town  of pilgrims, tourists, connoisseurs of art, an excellent cuisine, and a unique park exhibition centre. It is the commercial, economic, financial and a traffic centre of the region (including airports).  Evidence has been found of human presence back to the primeval ages; town itself has been built and developed for generations by Czech, Germans, Italians and Jews. Nowadays, the town is known world-wide for its famous beer and pencils, whereas its past glory is rather to be found in the salt trade, shipping on the Vltava river, silver mining and the town's own mint. Once a royal town, a mining town and a regional capital, it is now a district capital.

  • Black tower --

        The tower is located right next to St. Nicholas cathedral. It is a Gothic-Renaissance bell- and watch-tower with a small defense tower arround a spiral staircase attached to it as its entrance. Next to the tower stands the memorial of J. V. Jirsík, bishop of České Budějovice, a statue by J. V. Myslbek. The tower gallery provides an impressive view of the town's historical centre, the whole town and its surroundings, including Hluboká nad Vltavou, the areas of Týn nad Vltavou, Doudleby, Nové Hrady, Kleť  and a substantial part of the Šumava region.

  • The square named after King Přemysl Otakar II. --

        The large square is surrounded by arcades and burgher's houses. Its paving includes a renowned erring stone. With its beautiful fountain in the middle it is considered one of the most remarkable squares of Europe.

  • Town walls and bastions --

        The town walls with the bastions "Železná Panna" (the Iron Maiden), "Otakarka" and "Rabštejnská věž" (the Otakar and Rabenstein towers), forming a panorama admired by painters, engravers, artists and poets, can be viewed from the island "Sokolský ostrov". The layout of the original fortification has been preserved in the circle of the town parks surrounding the historical centre.
        ( Městské info. centrum, nám. Přemysla Otakara II. 2 )

    The castle Hluboká nad Vltavou

    The castle in Hluboká nad Vltavou with interesting architectural features and a large castle park was built by the Schwarzenbergers. The castle hosts remarkable arthistoric collections, including a collection of tapestries. Next to the castle is the South Bohemian Gallery of Mikoláš Aleš with collections of Gothic art, Flemish and Dutch painting and Czech modern art. Not far from the castle you can visit the hunting lodge Ohrada with a forestry and hunting museum. It contains a worl famous collection of red deer trophies, an exposition of Czech rifles and the  St. Eustace chapel. The surrounding picturesque landscape is composed of ponds and their embankments, alleys and enclosures. The hunting lodge neighbours a small ZOO with local and some exotic fauna.

  • Červená Lhota

  • Červená Lhota mansion --


    This picturesque Renaissance mansion stands on a rocky island in the midst of a lake on the site of an older water fortress. It originally got the name "červená" (red) from its brick roof, the red on the facade only dates from the beginning of this century. The interiors however are the original Renaissance and early baroque.
        ( tel.: +420 384 384 228 )

  • Jindřichův Hradec

  • Jindřichův Hradec mansion --

        The town of Jindřichův Hradec enjoyed its period of fame in the 16th century, when the lords of Hradec alternately held lively festivities and diplomatic consultations at the mansion there. Then too the mansion was magnificently rebuilt in Renaissance style and given costly interiors.
        ( tel.: +420 384 321 279 )

  • Orlík nad Vltavou

  • Orlík castle --

    Since 1802 Orlík was the residence of the younger, so-called Orlík branch  of the Schwarzenberg family. In the mid-19th century architect B. Grueber's rebuilding turned the originally medieval royal castle into a neo-Gothic comfortable mansion with richly furnished interiors.

  • Zvíkov

  • Zvíkov castle --


    Zvíkov, known as the king of Bohemian castles, used to tower like an eagle's nest over the confluence of the rivers Otava and Vltava. Now, owing to the dam forming a reservoir, the level of the water is higher. The castle was built in the 13th century and is a symbol of the power and glory of the last of the Přemyslides.
        ( tel.: +420 382 285 676 )


    Český Krumlov

    Česky Krumlov - the first UNESCO listed town in Czech Republic. Step back in time by walking through the romantic lanes of the medieval town you can visit the castle (the second largest in Czech Republic) with its splendid interiors. You  can view the Renaisssance, Baroque and other period interiors furnished with various artifacts dating through the last five centuries.There is a priceless collection of Flemiish tapestries as well as a large collection of paintings, and special wall frescos used for teaching in the 18th century,which were transferred here from the Zlatá Koruna monastery. Worthy of mention are the gilded horse carriage made in Rome in 1638 and the equipment from the Eggenberg mint. Český Krumlov is one of the most frequently visited places in  Bohemia.

    Room reservation
    Map of the town
    The town of Tábor

         Recommended options:

  • MS Internet Explorer 5.0
  • Resolution: 1024 x 768
  • Font: small (96 dpi)

  • BroadcastGardenTerraceTelephoneInternetPleasant serviceTV + satelliteParkingPočet míst k sezeníPočet lůžek
    tel.: +420 381 256 128, +420 603 718 778    e-mail:    http://
    Last up-dating 1.1. 2007          Copyright (c) Petr Červenka DiS 2000 -         Home page -